Events 2018


Practice Partner Events:

 

10/31/2018 Ernsting's Family

06/19/2018 McKinsey & Company

02/01/2018 Amazon 

MAP-exclusive Events:

 

11/26/2018 MAP-Christmas Party

07/10/2018 MAP-Scavenger Hunt

04/26/2018 Crack(er)s & Cheese 



MAP - Recap 2018

 

After one year, MAP looks back on an exciting and interesting 2018. At the beginning of the year, Amazon visited MAP and its participants in Münster. The students gained insights into the "Leadership Principles" and the dynamic way in which Amazon works. During a MAP exclusive Brainteaser event and a visit to cheese dairy “Hafenkäserei” in Münster, the students were able to get to know each other better and exchange ideas. In the summer, MAP students visited the McKinsey & Company Office in Düsseldorf and were able to get a sneak peek at the work consultants do while working together on a case study. A scavenger hunt through the city centre of Münster followed by a barbecue prepared the students for summer break. In a new application phase in October, MAP admitted 17 new students into the MAP program. In another company visit at Ernsting’s Family, new and old MAP members were able to getting to know each other as well as gaining insights into the topic of CSR and the Ernsting’s Family Group. The annual Christmas party marked the end of the year.

 

After a successful year 2018, MAP would like to thank all its company partners and the students for their participation.


MAP's Christmas Party

 

For the end of the year, the MAP members met on November 26 on the premises of the KSHG for MAP's Christmas Party. Just like the previous year, the evening started with a warm welcome by the organisation team.

 

Since the Christmas party was the first MAP exclusive event for new and old members to meet in a less formal, relaxed and comfortable way, they took the opportunity to get to know each other. With Christmas music in the background and mulled wine in their hands, there was enough time to chit and chat. As many of the MAP members also brought homemade delicacies to the party, the members' physical well-being was well taken care of.


Almost a tradition now, there was no way that Santa Claus would miss the celebration this year. He read out of his book, and praised and condemned the MAP members' behavior from last year - with a wink in his eye, of course. Eventually though, a MAP member's self-written poem led to what everybody was waiting for: Santa handed out his presents to MAP!

 

After many new friendships were made and the last cups of mulled wine were emptied, the group changed location into Münster's old town to spend the rest of the evening there.

 

MAP wishes all members a Merry Christmas and holidays and a Happy New Year in which many new and exciting events await.


MAP visits Ernsting's Family in Coesfeld-Lette

 

On October 31, 2018 the students and organizers of the MAP program visited Ernsting's Family in Coesfeld-Lette. The one-day event offered MAP students numerous opportunities to learn about the company, its culture and its employees.

 

The journey started early in the morning from Münster main station. On the train ride to Coesfeld Lette, the new MAP members were able to get to mingle with the old members and get to know each other better as well.  After a few introductory words by Stephan Harms, both external doctoral student at the Business Management Group and Senior Manager Procurement and Sustainability Resort at Ernsting's Family, Stephanie Gerdes introduced the company, herself Team Leader Training and Further Education. An exciting and informative lecture on sustainability in the textile industry at Ernsting’s Family followed.

 

After a culinary refreshment, the second half of the day began with a tour of the plant. It led the group from the impressive and ultra-modern main building over to the entire site of the logistics centre and its fully automated high-bay warehouse. Afterwards, current and former trainees talked to the students about everyday work in the areas of controlling, procurement, IT and strategic sales. In between lectures, there was enough time to answer all the questions the students had.  

 

After a final Q&A session, MAP started its journey back to Münster with a lot of new information and insight. With this in mind, MAP would like to thank Ernsting's Family for the exciting and well-rounded day. We are looking forward to the event next year!


MAP-exclusive Event in Muenster

 

Following the latest practice partner event in June, MAP organized a MAP-member-exclusive scavenger hunt for July!

 

On July 10, 2018, four groups started in the early afternoon to solve various tasks and riddles at different stations. For the new MAP members of the summer semester, this MAP-exclusive event was a wonderful opportunity to connect with their fellow students in a more personal environment.

 

The scavenger hunt took the students to the various sights of Muenster and its university buildings. As it is typical for Muenster, all riddle stations were, of course, visited by bike!

 

For the day’s finale and thereby the scavenger hunt’s ending, the teams gathered together at the same final destination. There, the winners were selected, and the first semi-final of the FIFA World Championship watched while everybody also appreciated the barbecue. It was apparent that the participants enjoyed the event immensely and that they will remember this team spirit-facilitating event for a long time.


MAP in Düsseldorf as Guests of McKinsey & Company

 

On Tuesday, June 19, 2018, the next practice partner event for the members of student talent program MAP took place: An exciting afternoon with McKinsey & Company - one of the world's leading management consulting firms. The students participated in a workshop on problem structuring and problem solving in the office in Düsseldorf. The MAP members were warmly welcomed and enjoyed an impressive view on Düsseldorf and the Rhine.

 

In an introduction round, the students were able to get to know the consultants and their fields of work more closely.

 

The workshop day then continued with a short introduction into the workshop’s content. The students received insights into the consultants’ working methods, and afterwards worked on a case study with the newly acquired knowledge under helpful tutoring and guidance. The focus of the workshop lay on problem structuring, problem processing, and precise communication. In a number of presentation and feedback sessions, the students were able to gain many helpful tips for the future.

 

After a short presentation about job entry opportunities for students and prospective graduates, a final Q&A session followed, in which all remaining questions were answered in-depth.

 

MAP would like to thank McKinsey for the exciting afternoon, great guidance throughout the day, and an interesting glimpse into McKinsey's world. We look forward to a continuing successful partnership.


MAP’s Start into the Summer Semester

 

Not only the sun was awating the students of student talent program MAP at the beginning of the summer semester in Muenster, but also the second MAP-exclusive event stood ahead: Crack(er)s & Cheese!

 

As the first part of the event’s name already suggests, MAP members met in the Heribert Meffert library on April 26th and solved brain teasers as well as working on case studies together in groups. To meet the expectations of the event name’s second part, the students of MAP visited the Hafenkäserei Münster afterwards. While having a beautiful view on Muenster’s port, the students got to know more about the cheese dairy’s history and learned more about cheese production and its preparation.

 

Following a delicious cheese tasting, the event came to a pleasantly homey end in the Café Med restaurant.


The Second Event - Amazon in Muenster

 

The new year started off with an event by Amazon for the MAP members. For the workhop on February 1st, three employees from the office in Munich came to Muenster to get to know the MAP members and to introduce Amazon in an exciting presentation.

 

The students acquired first-hand insights into Amazon's culture and working environment. Interesting topics such as Amazon's leadership principles and the dynamic way of working were introduced on the day.

 

Afterwards, students had the opportunity to discuss the current business area challenges Amaon faces, and work on case studies concerning these topics and to develop creative solutions. The company representatives actively supported the students during their work by answering questions and giving constant assistance. After a short presentation session and subsequent feedbacks, the students were able to ask questions and to connect during a relaxed get-together.

 

Thank you, Amazon, for a great day and we are looking forward to all the upcoming events with you!

Events 2018


Praxispartnerevents:

 

31.10.2018 Ernsting's Family

19.06.2018 McKinsey & Company

01.02.2018 Amazon

Interne Events:

 

26.11.2018 MAP-Weihnachtsfeier

10.07.2018 MAP-Schnitzeljagd

26.04.2018 Crack(er)s & Cheese



Recap 2018

 

Das MAP-Programm blickt zurück auf ein spannendes und interessantes Jahr 2018. Zu Beginn des Jahres fand das Amazon Event in Münster statt, in welchem die Studierenden Einblicke in die „Leadership Principles“ und die dynamische Arbeitsweise von Amazon gewannen. Bei einem internen Brainteaser-Event im Februar und einem anschließenden Besuch der Hafenkäserei in Münster konnten sich die MAP-Teilnehmer besser kennenlernen und austauschen. Im Sommer besuchten sie dann das McKinsey & Company Office in Düsseldorf und erhielten bei der Bearbeitung einer Fallstudie Einblicke in die Arbeit eines Beraters. Mit einer Schnitzeljagd durch die Innenstadt Münsters mit anschließendem Grillbuffet wurden die MAP-Mitglieder auf die kommenden Semesterferien eingestimmt. Zu Anfang des neuen Semester im Oktober wurden im Rahmen einer neuen Bewerbungsphase 17 neue Studierende in das MAP Programm aufgenommen. Auf dem darazuffolgenden Unternehmensevent bei Ernstings Family konnten sich die neuen und alten MAP-Mitglieder kennenlernen und erhielten Einblicke in CSR und den Konzern Ernstings Family. Die alljährliche Weihnachtsfeier bildete den Abschluss des Jahres.

 

Nach einem erfolgreichen Jahr 2018 bedankt sich MAP bei allen Unternehmenspartnern und insbesondere auch bei den Studierenden.


MAP-Weihnachtsfeier 2018

 

Zum Jahresabschluss fanden sich die MAP-Mitglieder am 26. November zur Weihnachtsfeier in den Räumlichkeiten der KSHG zusammen. Wie schon im Vorjahr startete der Abend mit einer kurzen Begrüßung und Einführung des Organisationsteams. Da die Weihnachtsfeier das erste gemeinsame interne MAP-Event für neue und alte Mitglieder darstellte, nutzten die MAP-ler die Gelegenheit, um sich in entspannter und gemütlicher Atmosphäre kennenzulernen. Bei Weihnachtsmusik und Glühwein gab es genügend Zeit, sich untereinander auszutauschen. Auch für das leibliche Wohl aller Gäste war gesorgt, denn auch dieses Jahr brachten wieder viele MAP-ler selbstgemachte Leckereien mit.

 

Wie es fast schon Tradition ist, konnte es sich der Weihnachtsmann auch diesmal wieder nicht nehmen lassen, der Feier einen Besuch abzustatten. Er trug aus seinem großen Buch vor und lobte und tadelte dabei das Verhalten der MAP-ler des vergangenen Jahres – natürlich mit einem großen Augenzwinkern. Das selbstgeschriebene Gedicht eines MAP-lers führte aber schließlich zum Erfolg: Der Weihnachtsmann verteilte seine Gaben am Ende unter den Anwesenden!

 

Nachdem viele neue Bekanntschaften geschlossen und die letzten Tassen Glühwein geleert wurden, ging es gemeinsam festlich gelaunt weiter, um den Abend in der Münsteraner Altstadt ausklingen zu lassen.

 

MAP wünscht allen Mitgliedern eine frohe und besinnliche Weihnachtszeit und Feiertage sowie natürlich einen guten Rutsch ins neue Jahr, in dem viele neue und spannende Events auf die MAP-Mitglieder warten.


MAP bei Ernsting’s Family

 

Am 31.10.2018 besuchten die Studierenden und Organisatoren des MAP-Programms Ernsting’s Family in Coesfeld-Lette. Das Tagesevent bot den MAP-lern zahlreiche Gelegenheiten etwas über das Unternehmen, dessen Kultur und Mitarbeiter zu erfahren.

 

Die Anreise startete früh morgens vom Hauptbahnhof Münster. Auf der Zugfahrt nach Coesfeld Lette konnten sich die bisherigen und die neu hinzugestoßenen MAP-Mitglieder untereinander kennenlernen und austauschen.  Am Unternehmenssitz angekommen, ging es nach ein paar einführenden Worten von Stephan Harms, externer Doktorand am Lehrstuhl für Unternehmensführung und gleichzeitig Senior Manager im Resort Beschaffung und Nachhaltigkeit bei Ernsting’s Family, in die Unternehmensvorstellung durch Stefanie Gerdes, Teamleiterin Aus- und Fortbildung, über. Darauf folgte ein spannender und informativer Vortrag zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit in der Textilindustrie bei Ernsting’s Family.

 

Nach einer kulinarischen Stärkung startete die zweite Hälfte des Tages. Diese begann mit einer Werksführung, welche die Gruppe vom eindrucksvollen und hochmodernen Hauptgebäude über das gesamte Gelände bis hin zum Logistikzentrum mitsamt vollautomatisiertem Hochregallager führte. Im Anschluss daran folgten spannende Vorträge von aktuellen und ehemaligen Trainees zum Arbeitsalltag in den Bereichen Controlling, Beschaffung, IT und strategischer Vertrieb. Zwischen den Vorträgen gab es immer wieder Kaffeepausen, sodass genügend Zeit blieb sich mit den Mitarbeitern auszutauschen.

 

Nach abschließender Frage- und Antwortrunde traten die MAP-Mitglieder zufrieden die Rückreise nach Münster an. In diesem Sinne bedankt sich MAP herzlich bei Ernsting’s Family für den spannenden und ausgefüllten Tag. Wir freuen uns schon auf das Event im kommenden Jahr!


Internes MAP-Event in Münster

 

Auf das Partnerevent im Juni folgte nun im Juli das interne Event der MAP-Schnitzeljagd!

 

Am 10. Juli 2018 starteten am frühen Nachmittag vier Gruppen, um an verschiedenen Stationen diverse Aufgaben und Rätsel zu lösen. Für die neuen MAP-Mitglieder des Sommersemesters war dieses interne Event eine tolle Möglichkeit ihre Kommilitonen noch einmal in einem kleineren Kreis kennenzulernen.

 

Die Schnitzeljagd führte die Studierenden zu diversen Münsteraner Sehenswürdigkeiten und Unigebäuden. Wie es sich dabei natürlich für die Stadt Münster gehört, wurden alle Rätselstationen mit dem Fahrrad aufgesucht!

 

Für den Ausklang des Tages fanden sich am Ende der Schnitzeljagd alle Teams am gleichen Ort ein. Zum Abschluss wurde gemeinsam gegrillt, das 1. WM-Halbfinalspiel geschaut und das Gewinnerteam gekürt. Den Teilnehmern war der Spaß an diesem internen Event sichtlich anzumerken, das sicherlich allen Beteiligten noch lange in schöner Erinnerung bleiben und zum Teamzusammenhalt beitragen wird.


MAP in Düsseldorf bei McKinsey & Company

 

Am Dienstag, dem 19.06.2018 fand das nächste Praxispartner-Event für MAP statt: Ein spannender Nachmittag bei McKinsey & Company, einer der weltweit führenden Strategieberatungen. Den Studierenden stand ein Workshop zur Problemstrukturierung und Problemlösung im Düsseldorfer Office bevor. Die MAP-Mitglieder wurden mit beeindruckendem Ausblick auf Düsseldorf und den Rhein herzlich begrüßt.

 

In einer Vorstellungsrunde konnten die Studierenden die Berater und ihre Tätigkeitsbereiche genauer kennenlernen.


Einander vorgestellt ging es dann mit der Einführung in die Inhalte des Workshops weiter. Die Studierenden erhielten bei intensiver Betreuung Einblicke in die Arbeitsweise der Berater und bearbeiteten anschließend mit dem erlernten Wissen eine Fallstudie. Der Fokus der Bearbeitung lag in diesem Zusammenhang auf die Problemstrukturierung, eine Problemaufbereitung und gezielte Kommunikation. In mehreren Präsentations- und Feedbackrunden konnten die Studierenden viele hilfreiche Tipps für die Zukunft gewinnen.

 

Gefolgt von einer abschließenden Q&A-Session, in der alle verbleibenden Fragen ausführlich beantwortet werden konnten, stellte McKinsey den Teilnehmer/innen in einer kurzen Präsentation Einstiegsmöglichkeiten für Studierende und angehende Absolventen vor.

 

MAP bedankt sich bei McKinsey für den spannenden Nachmittag, die tolle Betreuung und interessante Einblicke in die Arbeitswelt von McKinsey. Wir freuen uns auf eine weiterhin erfolgreiche Partnerschaft.


Sommersemesterstart auch für MAP

 

Für die MAP-Teilnehmer wartete nicht nur die Sonne zu Anfang des Sommersemesters in Münster, sondern auch das zweite interne Event: Crack(er)s & Cheese! Gemäß dem ersten Teil des Eventnamens fanden sich die MAP-ler am 26. April in der Heribert-Meffert-Bibliothek zusammen, um gemeinsam in Gruppen Brain Teaser zu lösen und Fallstudien zu bearbeiten. Um auch dem zweiten Teil des Eventmottos gerecht zu werden, ging es nach getaner Arbeit für die MAP-Mitglieder in die Hafenkäserei Münster. Mit schönem Ausblick auf den Münsteraner Hafen wurde die Geschichte der Hafenkäserei und die Zubereitung von Käse erklärt. Nach anschließender Käseverkostung ließen die MAP-ler den Abend gemütlich im Café Med ausklingen.


Das zweite Event – Amazon bei MAP

 

Das neue Jahr startete für die MAP-Mitglieder mit einem Unternehmensevent von Amazon.  Für den Workshop am
1. Febuar kamen drei Mitarbeiter des Standorts München nach Münster, um die MAP-Mitglieder kennenzulernen und Amazon in einer spannenden Präsentation vorzustellen. Dabei erhielten die Studierenden aus erster Hand Einblicke in die Kultur und Arbeitswelt von Amazon. Auch interessante Themen wie die Leadership Principles und die dynamische Arbeitsweise wurden ihnen an diesem Tag nähergebracht.

 

Im Anschluss bekamen die Studierenden die Möglichkeit sich in Fallstudien mit aktuellen Herausforderungen der verschiedenen Geschäftsbereiche von Amazon auseinander-zusetzen und kreative Lösungen zu entwickeln. Die Unternehmensvertreter standen den Studierenden während der Bearbeitung und für Fragen tatkräftig zur Seite. Nach einer kurzen Präsentationsrunde und anschließendem Feedback konnten die Studierenden bei einem entspannten Get-Together den Mitarbeitern ihre Fragen stellen und Kontakte knüpfen.

 

Wir bedanken uns für einen tollen Tag und freuen uns auf kommende Events mit Amazon!